Coaching News

Recipients of inaugural RTC Group NNSWF Talented Indigenous Scholarships announced

November 15th, 2021

Northern NSW Football is delighted to announce the inaugural recipients of its RTC Group NNSWF Talented Indigenous Scholarships.

The scholarships were a Northern NSW Football initiative as part of its inaugural RTC Group Indigenous Round across its Premier Competitions in May in conjunction with National Reconciliation Week.

The scholarships will assist eight Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander recipients with four Talented Player, one Talented Coach and three Talented Referee scholarships awarded, with recipients from the Hunter Region and regional northern NSW across the three categories.

The RTC Group NNSWF Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Talented Player Scholarship will help recipients represent Northern NSW Football at the 2022 National Youth Championships with contributions towards club registration and identification camp fees as well as costs associated with Talent Support Programs and the National Youth Championships. The recipients are:

Violet Nicholson: Tamworth FC, Northern Inland
Kruze Davidson: Charlestown Azzurri FC, NNSWF Premier Competitions (Hunter Region)
Jardie Morris: Macleay Valley Rangers, Football Mid North Coast
Lara Turner: New Lambton FC, NNSWF Premier Competitions (Hunter Region)

The RTC Group NNSWF Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander ‘C’ Licence Coaching Scholarship will help recipients complete Football Australia’s ‘C’ Licence advanced coaching accreditation, with coaches to receive ongoing support from NNSWF’s Coach Development Officer and Female Participation and Inclusion Officer. The recipient is:

Dylan Hugo: South Cardiff FC, NNSWF Premier Competitions (Hunter Region)

While the RTC Group NNSWF Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Talented Referee Scholarship will help recipients attend the 2022 NNSWF Referee Academy, with contributions also made towards registration fees and Talented Match Official Camp attendance. Referees will also receive ongoing support from NNSWF Referee Manager Brad Carlin and NNSWF’s Female Participation and Inclusion Officer Annelise Rosnell.

Mahlia Hoskins: Football Mid North Coast
Cayne Elford: Football Mid North Coast
Gregory Kennedy: Football Mid North Coast

Northern NSW Football CEO David Eland said the scholarships, along with the inaugural RTC Group Indigenous Round, were the first steps towards connecting with the region’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander heritage.

“I am delighted that we have been able to award these inaugural eight scholarships,” Eland said.

“These recipients will be role models for the next generation of Indigenous players, coaches and referees and will hopefully inspire others from their community.

“We want to increase the number of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander players, coaches and referees across football while creating more opportunities for them to engage in professional development and this is a chance to identify and showcase the next generation who have the potential to achieve at the highest levels of the game.

“I congratulate Dylan, Mahlia, Cayne, Gregory, Violet, Kruze, Jardie and Lara on their scholarships and wish them all the very best for their future in football.”

RTC Group founding director and executive chairman Richard Claut said his organisation had a passion for helping the underrepresented achieve their goals.

“RTC Group has a proud history of supporting local sportspeople and we’re incredibly proud to be associated with these scholarships,” Claut said.

“Everyone at RTC Group congratulates the eight inaugural scholarship recipients and wishes them well. We look forward to seeing them progress in their football careers.”

Related Topics:
recipients RTC Group NNSWF Talented Indigenous Scholarships

More News


Magic, Olympic to represent NNSWF in Australia Cup national round of 32
Broadmeadow Magic and Newcastle Olympic will represent Northern NSW Football in… [more]
NNSWF celebrates Refugee Week 2022 with gala day
Northern NSW Football have celebrated Refugee Week 2022 with a gala day for… [more]
NNSWF announces squads for 2022 National Youth Championships
Northern NSW Football is delighted to announce its squads for the 2022 National… [more]


Johnson Cup returns for 2022
The 2022 Johnson Cup will be hosted in Tamworth on Saturday as the pre-season… [more]
Northern Inland Charity Football Day raises money for headspace Tamworth
What started as a text exchange between mates culminated in a huge success at… [more]
Premier Division – Round 12 Preview
Oxley Vale Attunga will be out to extend its margin over Gunnedah at the top of… [more]