Tamworth Headspace Charity Football event postponed until community sport can return in regional NSW

September 16th, 2021

After the announcement last week that Tamworth would come out of lockdown Deputy Premier John Barilaro said community sport would remain suspended until 80 per cent of the state was fully vaccinated.

Organisers have postponed the event until community sport can return safely under the Public Health Order. When the date community sport can return is announced organsiers will determine a new date for the matches to be played.

While the event has been indefinitely postponed coaches got together this week to name their teams. The Old Boys, Young Guns and both Ladies All Star teams have been named. Players will be asked their availability again once a new date is locked in.

More than 150 players from eight clubs nominated for the event.

“The support for the event in its first year is exciting,” Regional Coordinator Toby McVey said.

“From sponsors to players and volunteers, the whole football community is getting involved. We hope to return to community sport soon to put on a great day of football for a great cause.”

Headspace Tamworth and Hunter New England Rural Adversity Mental Health Program will be present on the day providing support and information.


Team Lists

Old Boys – Adam Jones, Adam Watson, Andrew Mahoney, Andy Cygan, Ben Todd, Ben Van Aanholt, Brendan Fergie, Darren Desmid, David Silver, Dean Hoy, Hugh Gentle, Kurt Barrow, Lachlan Browne, Matt Gardener, Nick Bowden, Nick O’Neil, Sam Higgins, Steven Sharp. Coaches – Gavin Thompson, Wayne May, Dan Murphy.

Young Guns – Alex Barton, Dan McCormack, Daniel York, Eli Rankmore, Harry Pollock, Hayden Davidson, Jem Barbara, Joel Carter, Jonah Thompson, Justin Kellett, Lachlan Smith, Mitch McCormack, Mitchell Harding, Mitchell O’Keefe, Phong Nguyen, Riley Russell, Ryan Davidson, Will Menz. Coaches – Tim Coates, Chris Jarrett.

Ladies All Stars Blue – Amy Clift, Amy Roser, Chloe Goodwin, Claire Doherty, Claire McGuirk, Emma Allen, Georgia Smith, Hanna Davis, Jorja Roach, Kaitlyn Self, Kim Kenny, Lucy Gainsford, Marnie Watson, Milla Thompson, Miriam Barbara, Rachel Long, Taleisha Bartlett. Coaches – Cassandra Cutmore, Steve Doherty.

Ladies All Stars Red – Ayva Steel, Ellen Carter, Emma James, Emma Shaw, Jess Pace, Kahla May, Kayla Todd, Lauren Daye, Leah Elton, Lilly Parsons, Megan Johnson, Michelle Clausen, Mishelle Fealy, Phoebe Wilson, Rochelle Rose, Sammie Wilkie, Sonja Mariner. Coaches – Darren Desmid, Pat Warren, Julia Farina.



Related Topics:

More News


Award winners announced for 2022 Female Football Week
Northern NSW Football is delighted to announce the recipients of its 2022… [more]
All-female match official crew and networking event to headline 2022 Female Football Week
A networking evening that coincides with the NPL Women’s NNSW Match of the… [more]
Inaugural NNSWF Indigenous Representative team to compete at 2022 Women’s State Cup
An Indigenous team will represent Northern NSW Football for the first time at… [more]


Johnson Cup returns for 2022
The 2022 Johnson Cup will be hosted in Tamworth on Saturday as the pre-season… [more]
Northern Inland Charity Football Day raises money for headspace Tamworth
What started as a text exchange between mates culminated in a huge success at… [more]
Premier Division – Round 12 Preview
Oxley Vale Attunga will be out to extend its margin over Gunnedah at the top of… [more]